< Back to About Us page



N-Peace advocates for women’s engagement in peace and security, bringing light to stories of leadership and resilience.

Women are often at the frontlines of conflict, but they rarely make the headlines. We launched the N-Peace Awards to recognize the often invisible efforts of women who take the lead in building peace and empowering their communities. Delivered in collaboration with our partner, Search for Common Ground, the N-Peace Awards recognize and publicize the extraordinary contributions of women peace heroes in Asia.


Through the N-Peace Awards 2011, a process of identifying, documenting and showcasing the work of women as peace builders was successfully undertaken. In 2011 there were 25 nominations of women working actively on peace building at the national and grassroots level in the original four network countries – Nepal, Sri Lanka, Indonesia and Timor-Leste. Using social media tools including facebook, a voting process was carried out to raise awareness about Women, Peace & Security (WPS), as well as to create a space for the nominated women to be recognized, leading to 25,000 people registering their votes and showing their support! One woman from each of the four original countries was then awarded the first N-Peace Awards 2011: Purna Shova Chitrakar (Nepal); Electronita Duan (Indonesia); Shreen Abdul Saroor (Sri Lanka); and Filomena Barros dos Reis (Timor-Leste).

As a way to capture and promote their peace building work, video documentaries were produced to showcase their efforts. They were honoured at a regional event in October 2011 for their remarkable contributions to building peace and creating cohesion in their communities. For more information on the N-Peace Awards 2011 you can: read the media coverage around the awards and award winners or; download a pamphlet on the N-Peace Awards 2011.

N-Peace Award 2011 Winner's Documentaries


The N-Peace Awards 2012 were launched on International Women’s Day, 8 March 2012. Based on feedback from network members, the 2012 awards featured the leading category for women, Role Models for Peace, to recognize the efforts of women who have demonstrated leadership in building peace and empowering their communities, and two additional special categories: (i) Emerging Peace Champions, to recognize young women who are getting involved in peace building and; (ii) Men who Advocate for Equality, to recognize men who have championed women’s rights in conflict-affected settings.

Over 100 nominations were received for the N-Peace Awards 2012 and 55,000 online supporters cast their votes in an online campaign to support the Role Models for Peace, helping to identify awardees from each country: Radha Paudel, Nepal; Teresita Quintos Deles, the Philippines; Rupika Damayanthi De Silva, Sri Lanka; Mana Lou, Timor-Leste; Suraiya Kamaruzzama, Indonesia; and a tie for Afghanistan with Farkhunda Zahra Naderi and Quhramaana Kakar. The special categories were selected via a panel made up of the 2011 Awardees. The Emerging Peace Champion prize went to Amina Azimi, Afghanistan, and the Male Champion for Equality was awarded to Sadhu Ram Sapkota, Nepal. 

All N-Peace Awardees were recognized and their documentaries were showcased at the N-Peace Leadership Forum & Awards Ceremony, 9-11 October 2012. H.E. Benigno S. Aquino III, President of the Republic of the Philippines, presided over the N-Peace Awards Ceremony. The forum also provided a space for exploring conflict prevention and peace building best practice in the region and planning our next phase of country level N-Peace activities. View the documentaries on our 2012 Awardees and videos from the Awards Ceremony.


Over 90 personal stories of peace advocates in Asia inspired more than 70,000 online supporters from the region and beyond to recognize peace champions.

The Role Models for Peace Awardees in 2013 are;
  • Masuada Karokhi (Afghanistan) - A Member of Parliament and staunch women‟s rights campaigner
  • Irene Santiago (The Philippines) - A pioneering women‟s rights advocate and peace maker
  • Shashi Kumary Adhikary (Nepal) - A devoted women‟s rights activist and lawyer
  • Thavachsri Charles Vijayaratnam (Sri Lanka) - A grassroots social worker improving women‟s lives
  • Magdalena Bidau Soares (Timor-Leste) - A guerrilla fighter for independence turned peace advocate
  • Valentina Sagala (Indonesia) - A women‟s rights defender advancing laws against Gender Based Violence
Two special categories recognizing Male Champion for Gender Equality and the next generation of Emerging Peace Champions were awarded to Suprayoga Hadi (Indonesia), Deputy Minister and champion of women‟s voices for peace building in Indonesia, and Rohaniza Usman (The Philippines) a youth peace leader in Mindanao.

More details and briography and documentary films of the N-Peace Awardees are available on the N-Peace Awards 2013 portal and YouTube channel: YouTube.com/NPeaceNetwork


More than 100 nominations of peace advocates in Asia were submitted in 2014. New countries (Myanmar and Pakistan) and revamped categories made for an exciting year in telling the inspiring stories of all nominees. As well as the public, online vote that was conducted to determine the winners of the Untold Stories - Women Transforming their Communities category; this year also saw an expert, international selection panel judge and decide on the winners for the four special categories.

Learn about all of the 2014 winners and watch their amazing journeys here!


2015 saw more than 115 nominations of peace advocates in Asia and the Pacific from six countries. Thanks to over 60,000 votes, ten winners were celebrated in New York City.

Take a look at the 2015 winners and read about their amazing journeys here, and head over to the UNDP website for a look at the Awards celebration itself.


Back to Top   ^
Contact Us
Email Address*
Phone Number*
*Required Fields