< Back to N-Peace Awards page

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

The Nomination Process

Who can be nominated?

The N-Peace Awards have three different categories.  Each category has its own set of criteria. Nominees must be from one of the following seven countires: the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Nepal, Myanmar or Pakistan. All nominees must be willing to have information about their work used by the N-Peace Network for advocacy purposes. While women are eligible to be nominated in all three categories, men are only eligible for nomination in the Peace Generation and Campaigning for Action categories. Nominees in the Peace Generation category must be aged 29 years or under at the time of nomination. All nomination received for people who are under 30 years of age will be moved into the Peace Generation category. People who have been nominated for an N-Peace Award in previous years, but did not win, may be nominated again. N-Peace Awardees from previous years may not be nominated in any category.
For a full list of the eligibility criteria of each category see here.

Who can nominate?

Anyone can nominate a candidate. You need not belong to one of the participating countries of the N-Peace Network to nominate a candidate in the N-Peace Awards. You can nominate more than one person in any of the N-Peace Award categories, as long as each nomination meets with the relevant category criteria. If you are nominating someone, you must inform them and seek their agreement to be nominated. You cannot nominate yourself in any category, so please ask a friend, colleague or family member to nominate you. 

How can I nominate a candidate?

All candidates for the N-Peace Awards must be nominated either online at www.n-peace.net or by emailing n-peace.org during the six week period when nominations are accepted. In both the online and email nomination form you will need to provide a brief biography of the nominee's peace work and the reasons why you think they are a suitable candidate. You will also need to upload a high resolution photo of the nominee in which their face can be clearly seen. If you have supporting documents, such as media interviews or profiles, there is a space for you to attach these to the nomination form. You can view the profiles of past Awardees here to get a better idea of what information to include.

When can I nominate a candidate?

Nominations for 2016 were closed on 29 July, 2016 and will be announced for 2017 at a later date. Nominations received after the closing date will not be considered. 

The Voting and Selection Process 

Who can I vote for?

You may vote online on our candidates page. Voting for the 2016 Awards closes on 30 September, 2016. 

How do you pick the winners?

Online voting, open to all members of the public, will determine a shortlist for each category. An estimeed selection panel of international experts will then determine the winner(s) in each category based on the category selection criteria.

Why do I have to verify my vote?

To ensure a fairer voting process we have implemented the verification system. After you have submitted your vote an email will be sent to you. In order for your vote to count, you need to click on the link included in the email. This helps us to make sure that real people are voting and that they only vote for a person once. 

Countries and Categories

Which countries are particpating this year? 

The seven countries for 2016 are Indonesia, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Myanmar, Pakistan and Nepal. 

I'm not sure which category to nominate someone in.

Please read the eligibility criteria for the to get a better idea of the differences between the categories. The criteria outlines the requirements in nominees for each category. For example, to nominate a woman for the 'Untold Stories - women transforming their communities' category, she should be working within her community at the local level. If a woman is working on issues at the regional or national level, she should be nominated in the category 'Campaigning for Action - women and men mobilizing for peace'.

Will the public get to vote online for the winners? 

Public voting will take place from 18 August to 30 September, 2016 and this vote will determine the finalists for each category. These finalists will then be judged by the selection panel who will determine a winner or winners in each category based on each category's own set of criteria



For more information see Terms & Conditions

Contact Us
Email Address*
Phone Number*
*Required Fields