The N-Peace Award Winners 2017

This years winners of the N-Peace Awards are as follows:

Untold Stories: This award recognizes the efforts of women who have demonstrated skills in conflict resolution, prevention, and peace building in their communities, including those working at the grassroots levels and building bridges across communities. There are 7 (seven) winners in total for this category – one from each country. 

  • Afghanistan: Sayeeda Muradi  –A manager for a programme training women peace Shuras for conflict resolution within families and communities at tribal and district levels.
  • Indonesia: Rahmatan – A humanitarian aid worker, sexual violence counsellor and campaigner for women’s judicial rights in post-war Ache.
  • Nepal:  Srijana Karki– A violence against women and girls campaigner and support service provider for women in hr district, Dolakha.
  • Pakistan: Farhat Sajjad – A leader in women’s training and skills teaching to support their economic empowerment – a process that has resulted in bringing together disparate communities to learn from one another.  
  • The Philippines: Hadja Giobay Diocolano – A local leader and transformer of former combatants and youths into Peace Advocates.
  • Sri Lanka:  Bernadine Anderson – A passionate Montessori-following founder of a holistic school working towards child-soldier rehabilitation.
  • Myanmar: Tuan Cer Sung “Cheery” Zahau -A human rights advocate, feminist, and prominent voice for women of marginalised ethnic groups.

Campaigning for Action: This award recognizes individuals who has worked at the policy and decision-making levels to advance the Women, Peace, and Security (WPS) Agenda, specifically at the sub-national levels. One woman and one man across all N-Peace countries is recognized under this award.  

  • Female: Farhat Asif (Pakistan) – A prominent academic who brings together government officials, NGOs, think-tanks and educational institutions to raise the importance of women’s involvement in peace negotiations.
  • Male: Gunwan (Indonesia) – An individual at the forefront of women’s economic empowerment and involvement in local leadership positions.

The Peace Generation: This award recognizes the work of a young woman and a man (between the ages of 18-25) who have demonstrated how volunteerism can be a powerful means of promoting social cohesion and reconciliation through engaging the community – especially youths.  One woman and one man across all N-Peace countries is recognized under this award.  

  • Female: Suraya Yosufi  (Afghanistan) – A key figure working towards increasing the number of young women debaters in national and international socio-political debating tournaments.
  • Male: Sharif Shah Safi (Afghanistan) – A gender equality advocate, lecturer and debate programmer, providing a stage for women and youth to speak and be heard.

We would like to congratulate each of our inspiring N-Peace Awards winners for their achievements and their tireless efforts in the name of women, peace and security.  The nominations for the 2017 N-Peace Awards were opened for Afghanistan, Indonesia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, and Sri Lanka under three award categories, totalling 11 prizes.  This year, we received over 80 initial nominations for all three award categories and cleared 44 individuals for online voting.  Despite an increasingly stringent control of the voting process, 8,500 people from across 87 countries registered to cast their vote.  In just 55 days of voting, our hashtag (#NPeaceAwards) on Twitter received 1,095,533 timeline deliveries, while on Facebook, posts received 571, 811 impressions (this does not take it account the number of times the posts were shared by other individuals). 

For more information about nominations for the N-Peace Awards 2018, keep checking this page for updates.